Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
37

Wild Voice 4

For Earth Day
37
Transcript

No transcript...

I've returned to my practice of sitting under the trees for an hour after a few days away. In front of the waving arms of her cedars, my eyes welled with tears, overwhelmed by how much I had missed her. It is now butterfly season, and the sparrows are tumbling through the trees, making love. Invisibly, hummingbirds whiz past. For a minute, I forgot. It is my heart that keeps leading me back to the things that bring me the most relief. I recognize that I sometimes don't make time for what's best for me. Taking this in, I let it move me. Keep close to the earth that cares for me. I can at least praise her for a while and tell her how much I care for her.

With her ever-stable and enormous strength, the earth coaxes the body to let go. We are stacked with endless spirals of tension most of the time. It is important to release this, the earth says. Being mindful of setting it down minute by minute. Into the cradle of life through our feet and spines. She is able, better yet, she is meant to hold this with us and for us.

Dear lovely one, have a wonderful Earth Day.

love,

Sarah

“Rush and you will miss the magic of being born. Rush and you will miss the feeling.

A life that is fully felt is a life that is fully lived. A life fully lived is a life fully loved. Every feeling is love, changing its clothing. Love can only be understood when undressed, meaning felt.

See this tiny fir tree next to you, it has been under feet of snow and ice for nearly 4 months. Now green and nestled in a bed of plush moss it smiles and wiggles in the breeze. It shows all over his body, the course of his life and where it has forced growth. The forces that have shaped it are evident. There is nothing malign or inherently abusive about it; it is simply a part of its life. Standing crooked and wonderful. There will be many more rough weather systems for these baby ones beside you. The harsh winds will also come to you. Let's not waste time arguing, my sweetheart. This is life. Every person experiences it, and every life is touched by it. It is all within your mind, whether it's the shadow mind, the harsh mind, the lonely mind, the lovely mind, or the peaceful mind.  It's all yours, ice, hail, sleet, and snow, fire.

 Baby tree, Sarah, this life is perfect, everything is in order. Can't you see that you are in good company, beautiful, crooked girl? I love you.”

Sarah Blondin is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

37 Comments
Sarah Blondin
Sarah Blondin
mostly journal entries, contemplations, and sometimes meditations.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sarah Blondin