Sarah Blondin
Sarah Blondin
2023
57
0:00
-4:46

2023

To a year of countless 'thank you's'
57

Sarah Blondin is a free newsletter. If you love it, consider supporting it financially. For $7/mo, you’ll gain access to “Folding In” journal entries, poetry and the occasional live group meditation gathering. My work here is reader-supported, hence the lack of ads and sponsors. Thank you!



“I made no resolutions for the new year. The habit of making plans, of criticizing, sanctioning and molding my life, is too much of a daily event for me.” —Anais Nin

All I have in me these days is thanks. There is no moment I do not love. No apple, I do not roll in my palm without marveling at its scarlet skin. No crying child I do not eagerly hold, as if an honor I have been granted. No winged bird I do not greet without my song. No resting into the night without the breath of thanks being the last thing from my lips before sleep. No day is granted to me without joy and exaltation. No tear shed from my eye, without knowing it is holy water. I’m not taking stock of places I’ve been or hope to go. I am here—alive. Smiling ear to ear, even in moments of aching, for I have come to see nothing more beautiful than life.

I could have never planned the life I have. No lists or aspirational goals could have brought me to where I am now. The only advice I have, if you can even call it that, is to sit as close to heart as you can. It has plans for you, but you must be willing to enter its fire. Patience and devotion are its love language, so feed it well. Never steer from your bullhead, as it will bludgeon the spirit of true inspiration in you, only lead from the humblest part of you. Keep your head bowed, with the word mercy on your tongue, as you are eroded by tenderness and shown who you are. Take what is given, and feel the blessings living in you. Know that every moment is more than enough. Only when you can see this will you close the vast divide between you and your longing. This heartbeat in a body, this perfect iris of the eye, loved itself into being. This breath inside the breath in you is God incarnate. Follow this, know this, and thanks will be your only words and action.

So with this next breath, I thank YOU for being part of this growing community of heart fuelled beings. Thank you for being part of the wave that never ceases to send me spiraling into widening circles of awe. How we all (nearly 30 000 of us here) came to circle the same flame is the working of a miracle. Our hearts have spoken to one another and decided that we are here for this very thing—to believe in a greater love than we could imagine and bring it into being.

Amen. So be it. I love you. Thank you, thank you.

Sarah Blondin is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

57 Comments
Sarah Blondin
Sarah Blondin
mostly journal entries, contemplations, and sometimes meditations.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sarah Blondin