Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Sarah Blondin

Folding in 21

guided meditation & talk-'finding deep rest'
26

Sarah Blondin is a free weekly newsletter. If you love it, consider supporting it financially. For $7/mo, you’ll gain access to my monthly Q&A and my serial-Folding In. The work I create here is reader-supported, hence the lack of ads and sponsors. Thank you!


I sit in the room, leaning into the silence, trying my best to let it take for me what feels constricted in my body. There is quiet bathing us, no matter our state. It has stood with us, assuredly, since the dawn of our creation. Whatever peace or faith, or ground we have built inside of us, has been gained from permitting ourselves to open to this mysterious, alive silence and allowing ourselves to be touched by it.

Fierce and turbulent times call for deeply grounded people. I know it is hard to discern which need to tend to first, as there are so many, but the quality of my presence, the presence emanating from me, is most useful when imbued with the stillness of our origin. Reduced to our core is the essence of love and goodness. Be it hidden behind barb or bombs, inherently, we are silent purity. Recovering this truth for ourselves is what will merge us to a gentler, more loving future.

We practice not how to be perfect, nor untouched by the hot winds, but more it is learning how to be squeezed by both hands, so there is a drop of sunlight distilled from even our greatest fears and hard places. If I remain receptive, alive, and aware of myself and all the powers of my attention, I can influence the sound and taste of my fruit. I can become a piece of stone pressed into a diamond. In my willingness, I allow the unfolding of my life to make me more than I can comprehend now. I let time shape me, and I smile amid it all. Do not fret. Do not worry. Do not cower in fear. Let yourself be touched by all the world's layered on top of you. It is the contrast that gives us sweetness.

I smile, for I am here in this body, aware of all the places of discontent in me. The small and afraid. The tight and inflexible. The rigid and immovable. I am aware of the currents of pain and storms of distrust—the fear of the unknown, the weight of my grief. I smile, for I am aware of the room holding me. For the hum of the fridge and the soft gaze from the window's light. The coil of air-like breath coming from the crack in the door. I see there is both within my experience and within my grasp. In my body, it is all here. I smile, for I know that I stand in the most powerful place of understanding, and in seeing I come to feel hopelessly in love with all of it. I am perched like a plum on a windowsill growing ripe by the warming light of the sun.

thank you for your time and practice.

love,

Sarah

P.S. this month’s Ask Sarah is coming to you Sunday, March 6th. If you have any questions, be sure to submit them at the link below.

The full video is for paid subscribers

Sarah Blondin
Sarah Blondin
Authors
Sarah Blondin